Smell the Flowers

Many people see this place as an imperfect world – as do I. But sometimes, if you just take things in and smell the flowers, life’s not so bad at all. Sure, there’s the big things like jobs and HD televisions and houses and cars. But I noticed something today – I noticed that everyone’s recycling bin was out whilst walking home from school.

I’d already walked an entire road until I actually observed and noticed all the yellow lids. And I looked back behind me, and sure enough… there of course were more.

They’re bright, shiny, and noticeable. However, I didn’t notice them as they were not a part of my life at all, and certainly had nothing to do with my daily routine.

Not to say that recycling bins make me happy – they don’t, to me, they’re just there. Unless in a metaphorical sense to know that everyone’s recycling. But, if I missed something so bright and shiny, how much else of life have I just walked straight past without even noticing? We say we want to stop and smell the flowers, but we don’t. We instead walk right by them, in a blur of metropolitan life. When we’re sad, we  – or at least, I – even make a mostly-conscious effort not to see something happy, or nice, or anything of the kind.

It’s really kind of silly, now that I think about it. We need to stop saying we’ll stop to smell the flowers. Perhaps we need to really do the action in question, just to realise how sweet they can really be…

4 Comments

  1. Alyssa said,

    November 19, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I think the biggest problem with life is that people don’t do what they say they do. :)

    Thank you for sharing this!
    Alyss

    • kyuun said,

      November 19, 2009 at 7:30 am

      Just like I do mathematics at a level required only by university engineering? *wink wink, nudge nudge*

      I’m sorry. I couldn’t help myself. But I know what I mean and I have to say that I agree with you. :)

  2. GreyIxia said,

    November 20, 2009 at 5:12 am

    Hey, just checking in from Alyss’s blog :). I noticed you commented as well and I could not resist coming here.

    Interesting post. I try to notice things more and appreciate the little things more, but it is hard when you have a bunch of other stuff on your mind… :/

    “I stopped and smelled the roses once and a bee flew up my nose!” Hehe, I just remembered that from a television show.

    Things I grasped from the post:
    1. Notice the little things.
    2. Life is not as bad as we may think it is.
    3. Do what you say you are going to do.

    Number 3 is a big one for me. I always make promises to myself, yet never follow through…

    • kyuun said,

      November 22, 2009 at 2:02 pm

      Well, thanks! ^^ I’m very sorry about the late reply, also – life has been busy as of late. Really busy. :)

      It is hard. I think this is one of the reasons why I posted this – because I know I’m doing way too much and simply don’t stop and look at the little things. Mind = train wreck, in the sense that there’s too much clutter.

      Heh, I’ve never actually heard that one, before. I like that. :P

      Funny, because when I was writing this post, I don’t think I even acknowledged point number 2. Although I can certainly see where you’re coming from.

      Yeesh, yes, number three is a bit of a problem on my end, as well. I make promises to other people and don’t follow through with those, either. I suppose doing the NaNoWriMo is really helping me learn how to reach goals with a deadline attached, though, which is definitely nice. :)


Leave a Reply

